About the Murray Darling Medical School Partnership

Charles Sturt University and La Trobe University have partnered to help solve the doctor shortage in regional NSW and Victoria.  The proposed medical school will have campuses in Orange, Bendigo and Wagga Wagga and Rural Medical Training Centres in 16 other rural and regional centres.

As the largest regional providers of university training in NSW and Victoria, Charles Sturt University and La Trobe University already have a strong presence in the Murray Darling region, as well as critical expertise, experience and capacity to establish a regional medical school.

Charles Sturt University

About Charles Sturt University

Charles Sturt University

Charles Sturt University (CSU) is Australia’s largest regional university, with more than 39,000 students and approximately 2100 FTE staff. CSU is a unique multi-campus institution with campuses at Albury-Wodonga, Bathurst, Canberra, Dubbo, Goulburn, Manly, Orange, Parramatta, Port Macquarie and Wagga Wagga, as well as various study centres. The University’s commitment to the development and sustainability of rural and regional Australia is informed by the unique teaching and research focus, and the partnerships it has formed with each of its campus’ local communities, local industry, and with the broader regions it serves.

CSU offers a comprehensive suite of research and academic training programs that focus on addressing rural and regional labour market needs, growing regional economies, and preparing students for the jobs of the new economy through rural and regional Australia. Particularly in health and medical related disciplines, CSU seeks to address key training and equality of access issues across our rural and regional footprint, ensuring the critical supply of health professionals into local markets.

About La Trobe University

La Trobe University

Since its foundation in 1964, La Trobe has sought to be different, and to serve the community of Victoria and beyond. La Trobe is one University with multiple campuses in Melbourne (Bundoora and CBD), Albury-Wodonga, Bendigo, Mildura and Shepparton.

We are the largest provider of university education in regional Victoria with over 8,000 regional and rural students and in 2016 we welcomed 8,000 international students from 110 countries around the world. La Trobe is one of the country’s most diverse and inclusive universities, as measured by the number of students who come from disadvantaged backgrounds, who are disabled, from regional backgrounds or indigenous.

We are ranked in the top 400 universities in the world in all three of the major global university rankings; and rated in the top three research universities in Victoria, and top ten nationally, by the Excellence in Research for Australia (ERA) national research evaluation framework. We’ve secured our position among the world’s elite institutions, featuring in the top 100 global universities for archaeology, hospitality and leisure management, nursing, sociology, and sports-related subjects.

La Trobe is committed to delivering the skills to support regional employment growth. Our regional campuses have produced a total of 35,989 graduates. La Trobe is the largest provider of regional health training in Victoria, and 3 out of 4 health related La Trobe graduates who study in a regional setting, end up working in a rural city or town.

La Trobe University